National Visa Type D

Photo of a visa application form

Can I enter Germany and stay for long term?

All citizens of so-called "third countries" (non-EU countries) need a visa to stay in Germany for more than three months or work here. That means only citizens of the EU countries and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland do not require a visa to live in Germany. The long-stay visa most foreign citizens need to obtain is called the "National Visa Type D".

Most people from third countries also require a visa for shorter visits. You can find out more about it in our chapter "Visitor Visa".

What do I need to know?

What is a National Visa Type D?

The "National Visa Type D" is a long-stay visa that allows you to stay in Germany for more than three months and - depending on the type of visa - also, for instance, work, study, or go through vocational training. We present various types of visa in more detail here:

Where do I apply for the visa?

You must apply for your visa at the German embassy/consulate in your home country or - if that is not possible - in a neighbouring country or in the country in which you live. To do so, you need an appointment that you can book online on the website of the embassy responsible.

The embassy will also forward your application to the responsible Immigration Office in Germany, i.e. the local Immigration Office in the city where you wish to live. In principle, the Immigration Office must also approve your application.

Where can I find the visa application form?

You can obtain the visa application form directly from the German embassy or consulate responsible. You can also download the form at auswaertiges-amt.de and print it out twice. In some countries, the application form is only accepted in the language used in the embassy there. Check out the website of the embassy responsible for you beforehand to find out.

What documents do I need for the national visa?

For a national visa, you usually need at least the following documents:

  • Visa application form - filled out and signed (2x)
  • A valid passport
  • Current biometric passport photos
  • Proof of financing or a declaration of commitment. You can find out more about such a document in each chapter mentioned in the section "What is a national visa type D?" and our chapter "Declaration of Commitment for a National Visa".
  • Other documents, depending on the type of your visa. You can learn more in each chapter mentioned in the section "What is a type D national visa?".
What does a national visa cost?

The processing fee for a national visa is €75 which you have to pay when applying. Important: You won't get it back even if your visa application is rejected. 

Please note: There are exceptions to the costs for certain groups of people. You can find more about it (in German) in the German Foreign Office's leaflet.

How long does the visa process take?

In principle, you should expect up to 3 months, but it may take longer for some types of visas. Such is often the case if the Federal Employment Agency also has to approve your visa application.

What conditions do I have to fulfil?

The requirements of National Visa Type D differ depending on the purpose of your entry. You can learn more about the conditions in each specific chapter mentioned in the "What is a National Visa Type D?" section.

How long is the National Visa Type D valid?

The duration of this visa differs depending on the purpose of your entry. You can learn more in the specific chapters mentioned in the "What is National Visa Type D?" section.

Can I also apply for asylum with a National Visa Type D?

You can enter the country with a National Visa Type D and then apply for asylum in Germany. Whether your asylum application will be accepted depends on the circumstances in your home country. Often people who have a chance of asylum are not issued a visa at all. You can learn more about the asylum procedure in our chapters "Asylum procedure" and "Residence permit for refugees".

Please note: Until a decision has been made on your asylum application, you or the person who has made a declaration of commitment on your behalf must bear all of your costs (accommodation, food, medicine, etc.), including costs of possible deportation. You can learn more in our chapter "Declaration of commitment for a National Visa".

Important

Citizens of Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, Korea, Great Britain, Northern Ireland and the United States of America do not need to apply for a visa at the embassy in advance. They can also apply for it after they arrive in Germany. 

Partner-Logos EN

A Projekt by:
Funded by:

Nationales Visum Typ D

Photo of a visa application form

Kann ich nach Deutschland einreisen und länger bleiben?

Alle Bürger*innen von sogenannten "Drittstaaten" brauchen ein Visum, um sich länger als 3 Monate in Deutschland aufzuhalten oder hier zu arbeiten. Das bedeutet, dass nur Bürger*innen der EU-Staaten sowie von Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und der Schweiz kein Visum benötigen, wenn sie in Deutschland leben möchten. Dieses Visum für längere Aufenthalte heißt "Nationales Visum Typ D".

Für die meisten Personen aus Drittstaaten gilt auch für kürzere Besuche eine Visumspflicht. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Besuchervisum".

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D?

Das "Nationalen Visum Typ D" ist ein Visum für längere Aufenthalte. Damit können Sie auch länger als drei Monate in Deutschland bleiben und dort – je nach Visumstyp – auch z.B. arbeiten, studieren oder eine Ausbildung machen. Die verschiedenen Visa-Arten stellen wir Ihnen hier genauer vor:

Wo beantrage ich das Visum?

Ihr Visum müssen Sie vor Ihrer Einreise bei der deutschen Botschaft / dem deutschen Konsulat in Ihrem Heimatland oder – falls das nicht möglich ist – in einem Nachbarland bzw. in dem Land, in dem Sie wohnen beantragen. Dafür brauchen Sie einen Termin, den Sie online auf der Website der zuständigen Botschaft buchen können.

Die Botschaft wird Ihren Antrag auch an die zuständige Ausländerbehörde in Deutschland weiterleiten. Zuständig ist die Ausländerbehörde des Ortes, an dem Sie wohnen möchten. Die Ausländerbehörde muss Ihrem Antrag in der Regel auch zustimmen.

Woher bekomme ich das Formular für den Visumsantrag?

Das Formular für den Visumsantrag bekommen Sie direkt bei der für Sie zuständigen deutschen Botschaft bzw. beim für Sie zuständigen Konsulat. Außerdem können Sie das Formular auch auf auswaertiges-amt.de downloaden und zwei Mal ausdrucken. In einigen Botschaften wird das Antragsformular nur in der dort benutzten Sprachversion akzeptiert. Erkundigen Sie sich vorab auf der Website der für Sie zuständigen Botschaft.

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für das Nationale Visum?

Für ein Nationales Visum brauchen Sie in der Regel mindestens die folgenden Unterlagen:

  • ein ausgefülltes und unterzeichnetes Visumantragsformular (2x)
  • einen gültigen Reisepass,
  • aktuelle biometrische Passfotos
  • einen Finanzierungsnachweis bzw. eine Verpflichtungserklärung. Mehr dazu  finden Sie in den einzelnen Kapiteln im Abschnitt "Was ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D?" und in unserem Kapitel "Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Nationales Visum".
  • weitere Unterlagen abhängig von der Art Ihres Visums. Mehr dazu finden Sie in den einzelnen Kapiteln im Abschnitt "Was ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D?".
Was kostet ein Nationales Visum?

Die Bearbeitungsgebühr für ein Nationales Visum beträgt 75 Euro. Sie müssen das Geld bereits bei der Antragsstellung bezahlen. Wichtig: Sie bekommen das Geld nicht zurück, wenn Ihr Visumsantrag abgelehnt wird.

Bitte beachten Sie: Für bestimmte Personengruppen gibt es Ausnahmen bei den Kosten. Mehr dazu finden Sie auf Deutsch im Merkblatt des Auswärtigen Amts.

Wie lange dauert das Visumsverfahren?

In der Regel müssen Sie mit bis zu 3 Monaten rechnen. Für manche Visa kann es auch länger dauern. Das ist dann der Fall, wenn auch die Bundesagentur für Arbeit Ihrem Visumsantrag zustimmen muss.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich erfüllen?

Die Voraussetzungen dieses Visum unterscheiden sich je nach Ihrem Einreisezweck. Mehr dazu finden Sie in den einzelnen Kapiteln im Abschnitt "Was ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D?".

Wie lange ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D gültig?

Die Gültigkeitsdauer dieses Visum unterscheidet sich je nach Ihrem Einreisezweck. Mehr dazu finden Sie in den einzelnen Kapiteln im Abschnitt "Was ist ein Nationales Visum Typ D?".

Kann ich mit einem Nationalen Visum Typ D auch Asyl beantragen?

Sie können mit einem Nationalen Visum Typ D einreisen und dann in Deutschland Asyl beantragen. Ob Ihr Asylantrag positiv entschieden wird, hängt  von den Umständen in Ihrem Heimatland ab. Oft bekommen Personen, die eine Chance auf Asyl haben, meist erst gar kein Visum. Mehr zum Thema Asylverfahren erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Asylverfahren" und "Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Geflüchtete".

Bitte beachten Sie: Bis über Ihren Asylantrag entschieden wurde, müssen Sie selbst bzw. die Person, die eine Verpflichtungserklärung für Sie abgegeben hat, alle Kosten (Unterkunft, Essen, Medizin, etc.) selbst bezahlen. Das gilt auch für eine eventuelle Abschiebung. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Nationales Visum".

Wichtig

Staatsangehörige von Australien, Israel, Japan, Kanada, Neuseeland, Korea, Großbritannien, Nordirland und den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika müssen das Visum nicht vorab bei der Botschaft beantragen. Sie können es auch erst nach der Einreise beantragen.

Gefördert durch:

Gefördert durch:

Ein Projekt von: